editions

    ︎
    ︎
    ︎
    ︎
    ︎
Bergen Assembly




Subscribe


Instagram / Facebook / Twitter



Mark

About

NO / EN


        Bergen Assembly is a perennial model for art production structured around public events that take place in the city of Bergen every three years. Each edition is guided by a convener who is free to invent new ways of conceiving the event, allowing each iteration of Bergen Assembly to take on a distinctly different shape and format. 

        Bergen Assembly originated from the Bergen Biennial Conference in 2009, in response to a proposal by the municipality of Bergen to establish an international biennial for contemporary art in the city. The conference, which discussed the question “To biennial or not to biennial?” with international curators, artists, and academics, was followed by The Biennial Reader (Hatje Cantz/Bergen Kunsthall, 2010)—to date the most comprehensive publication on the global history and practice of biennials or regularly occurring exhibitions and art events.

        The first edition of Bergen Assembly, convened by Ekaterina Degot and David Riff in 2013, was titled Monday Begins on Saturday and organized as a narrative unfolding across a series of exhibition spaces. The second edition, in 2016, was led by artist and composer Tarek Atoui, the freethought collective and the collaborative platform PRAXES, who each produced a distinct project. The last edition, Actually, the Dead Are Not Dead, convened in 2019 by Iris Dressler and Hans D. Christ, explored new notions of political assembly in collaboration with a core group of ten artists, curators, writers and activists. The next edition of Bergen Assembly will in 2022, convened by the artist Saâdane Afif.


Bergen Assembly hopes to open our office doors as a public working space when social distancing is no longer necessary.

The team works at the office at Halfdan Kjerulfs Gate 4, 5017 Bergen from 10-17:00 on weekdays, as restrictions allow.


Ingrid Haug Erstad
Director
ingrid@bergenassembly.no

Kirsten Wandschneider
Head of Project
kirsten@bergenassembly.no

Tor Steffen Espedal
Project Coordinator
tor@bergenassembly.no

Christa Mako Teigen
Communications Coordinator
christa@bergenassembly.no

Christine V. Olsen (on leave)
Administrative Coordinator  christine@bergenassembly.no

Dipha Thiruchelvam
Administrative Coordinator  dipha@bergenassembly.no

Josephine Van De Walle
Partners and Advisory Board
josephine@bergenassembly.no








DATA PRIVACY

EXECUTIVE BOARD:


Stein Olaf Onarheim (Chair of the Board)
Henriette Gallus
Pedro Gómez- Egaña
Hanne Mugaas
Sveinung Unneland

ADVISORY BOARD:


Ina Blom
Solveig Øvstebø
Ranjit Hoskote
Michael Marder
Maria Hlavajova
Anselm Franke
Anaïs Tondeur