Bergen Assembly


Instagram / Facebook / Twitter


Side Magazine

︎︎︎ Buy or Subscribe

      Side Magazine is conceived as a site of research for the fourth edition of Bergen Assembly convened by artist Saâdane Afif. Afif has invited Berlin-based Yasmine d’O. as curator of the edition and executive editor of Side Magazine

        Side Magazine is dedicated to the seven characters in The Heptahedron, a play written by the French poet, essayist, and scholar Thomas Clerc in 2016. In order of apparition these characters are the Professor, the Moped Rider, the Bonimenteur, the Fortune Teller, an Acrobats, the Coalman, and the Tourist.

        Yasmine d’O. says, “The seven characters in The Heptahedron resemble a game—a tarot deck—and that’s handy, because my work as a curator requires a certain level of divination. I am becoming better acquainted with them, exploring and discovering them through their puzzling names. I consider Side Magazine a tool of poetic prospection, if you will. It is neither an art magazine, nor an academic magazine. Instead, it gives a body to the seven faces of The Heptahedron, physicalising the questions that they raise. Subsequently, they will become the motifs guiding the seven exhibitions that will shape the seven sides of the upcoming Bergen Assembly.”
    Seven issues of Side Magazine will be released in the run up to the opening of Bergen Assembly 2022, each comprised of seven articles respectively. A special eighth issue includes installation images, which will be published after the opening days. This, combined with the existing seven issues, make up the collection that constitute the exhibition catalogue and guide.

Side Magazine is published by Wirklichkeit Books. It is available directly from their website for purchase and subscription worldwide, as well as in selected stores worldwide. 

The Professor

        The first issue of Side Magazine is dedicated to the figure of the Professor. It features seven articles, each of which explores the identity, role, and position of the Professor. Contributors include Uli Aigner and Valérie Chartrain, Jörg Heiser, Christian Nyampeta, Lili Reynaud-Dewar and Yasmine d'O., Tatiana Rybaltchenko, Marjorie Senechal, and Vivian Slee.

        The editorial committee for the first issue is comprised of Saâdane Afif, Anna Bühler, Alix Chambaud, Louisa Elderton, Ingrid Haug Erstad, Jonas von Lenthe, John McKiernan, Yasmine d’O., Tatiana Rybaltchenko, and Pit Stenkhoff.

︎︎︎ Buy or Subscribe


Out now: the Professor
︎︎︎ Buy or Subscribe
Executive Editor: Yasmine d’O.
Concept: Saâdane Afif
Chief Editor: Louisa Elderton
Associate Editor: Jonas von Lenthe
Editorial Coordinator: Alix Chambaud
Research Assistant: Tatiana Rybaltchenko  
Proofreader: Hannah Satz
Graphic Design: Neue Gestaltung

Published by Wirklichkeit Books